History

The first Catholic services held in Rogers were held in the Gem Theater on Walnut Street in 1910 by Fr. William Carroll, the pastor of St. Elizabeth Church in Eureka Springs. The Rogers Catholic community, at that time, was a mission of St. Elizabeth and services were infrequent, held usually only twice a month. This continued to be the case even after the Congregational Church on the corner of 4th and Olive was purchased for use as a permanent church structure. This original  parish was named St. Mary, but the name was changed in 1941 to its present name, St. Vincent de Paul.

     The first resident pastor, Monsignor Edward Malloy was assigned to St. Vincent de Paul in 1945. At that time the community consisted of just more than 20 Catholic families, but as Rogers grew, so did the Catholic community and in 1947 the church was moved to a larger building on the corner of 6th and Cypress streets. The Diocese of Little Rock established St. Vincent de Paul as a parish on July 15, 1949.  In 1965, yet  another parish building was built to accommodate the growing Catholic population. This building, which seated 650 people, still stands at the corner of 13th and Cypress and now serves as the St. Vincent de Paul Parish Hall. The current worship space, which seats 1600, was  dedicated and opened in April of 2003.